MODEL AIRCRAFT FORUM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
MODEL AIRCRAFT FORUM

Welcome to Forum

HomeGalleryLatest imagesLog inRegister

Balancing an airplane

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Dougal
Anonymous

Balancing an airplane Empty
PostSubject: Balancing an airplane   Balancing an airplane Icon_minitimeMon 22 Feb - 16:53

Hi Guys--here's one for you.Talking to one of the guys at our local strip on Sunday and as he is the sort of "Ace of the Base'' here as far as flying and with all the aerobatics,so I was a bit reluctant to dis-agree with him
If you really want to get your model balanced to the manufacturers specs and get the best performance you must do it without the Prop on. His reasoning----as the prop is pulling the a/c through the air it is in no way adding any weight to the front end,except when stationary.
I did have a little chuckle to myself,but ,hey I'm no expert.I think it's such a little weight,and being at the front is less likely to make a significent difference than if it was at the tail-end.Perhaps with some pusher designs with engine [or engines] way back.?OK what do you boffins think? Dougal Balancing an airplane Confused
Back to top Go down
Admin
Administrator
Administrator
Admin

PostSubject: Props wight part of CG   Balancing an airplane Icon_minitimeWed 24 Feb - 9:21

Like you Doug, I think he is wrong. You can not defy gravity. Everything
weighs something and is affected by gravity depending on its weight and
density. ( Newtons Law)

Even when the Prop is rotating at high revolutions it still weighs the
same so has an affect on the CG of the aircraft.

Last edited by Admin on Wed 7 Apr - 11:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
http://www.tmac.net.nz
Josef

Josef

PostSubject: Re: Balancing an airplane   Balancing an airplane Icon_minitimeFri 12 Mar - 4:18

Hi Doug,
The guy is somehow wrong...